An injury at work can leave you unsure of what your future holds. After your injury occurs, the next step is to file a workers compensation claim so you can potentially get your medical expenses covered and receive disability benefits. Disability benefits will cover up to 80 percent of your lost wages temporarily while you’re out of work.
When applying for workers comp benefits, a doctor appointed by your employer will assess your injuries and assign you a workers comp disability rating. This rating assesses your injury on a scale of 1 to 100 to determine how disabled you are and what benefits you should receive.
If you don’t agree with the disability rating you receive or need help with your workers comp claim approval, you should reach out to an Iowa workers compensation lawyer from Pothitakis Law Firm, PC. Having an experienced attorney guide you through the claims can give you the best chance of receiving maximum benefits.
Disability Rating Scale
The disability rating scale goes from 1 to 100, as mentioned, with 1 being unharmed and 100 being completely disabled. Once you receive your rating, the rating is multiplied by the number of weeks assigned to your injury in the state’s injury schedule to determine how long you’ll receive disability benefits. Not all injuries are listed in the state’s injury schedule, but some injuries listed include:
- Loss of thumb–60 weeks
- Loss of first finger–35 weeks
- Loss of second finger–30 weeks
- Loss of third finger–25 weeks
- Loss of hand–190 weeks
- Loss of arm–250 weeks
- Loss of great toe–40 weeks
- Loss of other toes–15 weeks
- Loss of foot–150 weeks
- Loss of leg–220 weeks
- Loss of eye–140 weeks
- Loss of hearing in one ear–50 weeks
- Loss of hearing in both ears–175 weeks
- Permanent disfigurement of the face or head–150 weeks
For example, if your disability rating is 50 and you lost your arm, then you’d receive benefits for 125 weeks. If your injury isn’t listed on the state’s injury schedule, then the length of your disability benefits may be determined by your age, your physical capacity, the local job market, or the possibility of rehabilitation.
What to Do If You Don’t Agree with Your Disability Rating
If you don’t agree with the disability rating assigned to you by the doctor, you can receive a second opinion from a doctor of your choice. Your employer should pay for this independent medical exam. You can also fight a denied workers comp claim with the help of your legal team.
Contact an Iowa Workers Compensation Attorney
The workers comp claims process can be complex. Even if you think you know your disability rating, you may be surprised to hear the doctor’s opinion. You should be prepared for whatever outcome you receive and know that fighting for your case is often possible.
If you need help maximizing your benefits, reach out to an Iowa workers compensation lawyer from Pothitakis Law Firm, PC. To schedule a free consultation, call 319-754-6400 or fill out the contact form below.