main menu

Pothitakis Law Firm. P.C

Pothitakis Law Review5.0 – 41 Reviews on Google

Workers Compensation Law Firm

Address:

Burlington Office

320 N 3rd St #100Burlington, IA 52601

Directions

Keokuk Office

1603 Main StreetKeokuk, IA 52632

Directions

CAll Now To Speak To An Attorney 1-866-753-4692
319-754-6400
Fight for the Compensation You Deserve

Get Your Free Case Review:

  • No pressure to continue beyond the consult
  • Consultation is 100 percent free of charge
  • Work with an experienced attorney
CLICK HERE FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

Recent Case Results

$1,000,000

Workers Comp settlement

$1,000,000

Disability Settlement

$600,000

Workers Comp Settlement

members of

recent results

$1,000,000

Workers Comp Settlement

$1,000,000

Disability Settlement

$600,000

Workers Comp Settlement

$450,000

Workers Comp Settlement

$400,000

Workers Comp Settlement

$400,000

Workers Comp Settlement

$200,000

Personal Injury Settlement

$50,000

Workers Comp Settlement

Touch below for a free injury consultation.

First Report Of Injury And Subsequent Report Of Injury: What Are They?

Click below to share this on social media:

Iowa's Report of Injury Attorneys - Pothitakis Law Firm

When an employee is injured on the job, employers and their insurance companies have numerous responsibilities under the law. One of the most important is reporting requirements. Employers are required under Iowa law to remain compliant with all reporting procedures and deadlines. First, the employer must submit the First Report of Injury after they have received a notification of a work-related injury or accident. After that, the Subsequent Report of Injury (SROI) is required as part of the claims process.

First Report of Injury

After an employee has been injured at work, their employer is required to submit a First Report of Injury (FROI) within four days via the Electronic Data Interchange system. If a death or hospitalization of three or more employees occurs, then the employer must submit their FROI to the Iowa Labor Commissioner — and the report must be submitted within eight hours following the incident. Regardless if liability is denied, an FROI must be on file with the Workers’ Compensation Commissioner. If that is missing, the employer will be identified for a late submission and they will receive an additional 15 days to complete the process or face penalties.

Subsequent Report of Injury

After the claims process is started and the FROI has been submitted, the employer will have one or more required SROIs to submit via the EDI. These must be filed in a timely manner or they can affect an injured worker’s claim. Some requirements of the SROI that can affect workers’ compensation benefits include:

  • Once payments have started, an SROI must be filed within 30 days of those payments being initiated.
  • If weekly payments are terminated or changed for any reason, the SROI must be submitted reporting the details of that change and any valid reasons for the change.
  • Each year, the employer must file an SROI if the workers’ compensation claim is still open as of June 30th.
  • Once payments are terminated, an additional SROI must be filed.
  • Once the claim is closed and the worker no longer requires payments, the SROI must be submitted and then a copy sent to the employee.
  • If the employee’s original FROI is denied, the employer must submit an SROI reporting such.

Confused About FROI and SROI? Contact Pothitakis Law Firm, P.C.

Understanding the miniscule filings, requirements and paperwork for a workers’ compensation claim can be daunting. It is best to enlist the assistance of an attorney that has experience filing such claims. The team at Pothitakis Law Firm, P.C. can help you file your workers’ compensation benefit claim and ensure that all necessary paperwork from yourself or your employer is completed so that your benefits are not affected. Contact us now to schedule a consultation and to get started on the claims process. Call 888-459-7613 or contact us online and an attorney will be in touch with you shortly.

RESULTS

$1,000,000

Workers Comp

$1,000,000

Disability

$600,000

Workers Comp

$450,000

Workers Comp

$400,000

Workers Comp
view all

INJURED ? CALL 1-866-753-4692

or

FILL OUT THE FORM BELOW FOR AFREE CASE REVIEW

  • NO PRESSURE
  • SPEAK WITH AN ATTORNEY
  • NO HIDDEN FEES
[]
1 Step 1
Type your name here & click nextyour full name
Phoneyour full name
Commentsmore details
0 /
Previous
Next
FormCraft - WordPress form builder
All Fields Required